Gary Clark Jr. Featured On “12 Years A Slave” Soundtrack

Gary Clark Jr. Photo: Latisha Alsys For

Gary Clark Jr. will be featured on the “12 Years A Slave” Soundtrack set for release on November 19th. The digital version is available now and the soundtrack was curated by John Legend.

Clark covers the songs “When The Sun Goes Down” and “Freight Train” for the soundtrack.

Clark contributes a pair of songs, “When The Sun Goes Down,” which has been covered by an array of artists since the mid-’30s, including Lonnie Johnson and Big Maceo, and “Freight Train,” which was written by Elizabeth Cotten and covered by such artists as Joan Baez, Pete Seeger, and Rusty Draper. Clark performed both songs solo with just electric guitar and vocals. These raw and authentic recordings reveal a rare and pure distillation of Gary at this most soulful. Other artists who appear on the album include Alicia Keys, Chris Cornell featuring Joy Williams, Laura Mvula, Cody Chesnutt, and Alabama Shakes.

For the full soundtrack track list, click here!

1 Tim Fain – Devil’s Dream
2 John Legend – Roll Jordan Roll
3 Gary Clark Jr. – Freight Train
4 Tim Fain and Caitlin Sullivan – Yarney’s Waltz
5 Alabama Shakes – Driva Man
6 David Hughey and Roosevelt Credit – My Lord Sunshine (Sunrise)
7 John Legend feat. Fink – Move
8 Hans Zimmer – Washington
9 Gary Clark Jr. – (In The Evening) When The Sun Goes Down
10 Alicia Keys – Queen Of The Field (Patsey’s Song)
11 Hans Zimmer – Solomon
12 Laura Mvula – Little Girl Blue
13 Chris Cornell feat. Joy Williams – Misery Chain
14 Topsy Chapman feat. Chiwetel Ejiofor and Cast – Roll Jordan Roll
15 Tim Fain – Money Musk
16 Cody Chesnutt – What Does Freedom Mean (To A Free Man)


Diagnosis: GCJ, Legend, Alabama Shakes, Alicia Keys, Laura Mvulva, and more? Pretty impressive soundtrack!



No Comments

Post A Comment